Lazy roads

The title of this post seems weird. It definitely does now that I read it again. But it makes complete sense to me after being back to my hometown Nagpur after a grueling internship at Bangalore. I always fantasized about living in a big city, enjoying the fast pace of life, enjoying reading multiple newspapers every day and being in the midst of all the action. I got to partially live my fantasy for the previous two months in Bangalore and those months have made me grateful for not being obsessed with my reality and for being blessed with a reality called Nagpur and the beautiful life that I lead here. 

In Bangalore, a journey from point A to B with an average speed of more than 30 km/hr is a success story. In Nagpur, you can reach any part of the city in 10 minutes, with the speedometer surprising you with readings of 50-60 km/hr easily. Bangalore introduced me to amazingly frustrating traffic jams, while coming back to Nagpur reminded me of the joy of driving on empty roads. As I get ready to start my professional career in less than a year, the thought of shifting to a metropolis to do quality work bothers me a lot. I have grown accustomed to the lazy roads in my city, the lazy roads that let you speed up, that let you wander without having to know where you are headed, the roads that give you the luxury of getting lost and not losing anything at all. Ideally, I would never leave these roads.. 

But then, when I think of it, these lazy roads seem to be leading nowhere. I look again, the roads lead home. 

11 thoughts on “Lazy roads

  1. RD says:

    May be what Derek Wallcot had written about cities is becoming synonymous for Nagpur, he wrote” A culture, we all know is made by its cities”, and it is the lack of culture not for Nagpur but all over which is defining the contours of our cities and our existence.

  2. Rondeep says:

    Similar feelings come to my mind when I at home from a metropolis, but along with the lack of traffic, the width of the roads is what gives my eyes some adjusting to do (which I don’t mind at all). We have a compact city without needing diversions on most occasions, which is one of the features I like. Here’s wishing that the charm of our hometowns remains the same for a long time and we always come to home to it 🙂

  3. I had the exact thoughts when I went back home for the first time after shifting to Bangalore. This city has its charms and I love Bangalore, but even the thought of going to a place more than 5 km away frustrates me – narrow roads, traffic, honking horns… The only reason I dont want to own a vehicle in Bangalore
    Coming back to Nagpur gives me a high when I drive… especially at Civil line roads, the winding road of seminary hill… its lovely.

    • Good that you are not adding to the Bangalore traffic, Abha. And I guess these small town charms can be most appreciated by those people who have grown up with them but have to leave them behind for some reason..

  4. proteinbound says:

    True that. I have always believed Ngp is the best place to raise a family. Except there are no jobs. Well there are plenty of jobs I guess but we don’t want to do those, neither do we wish to start our own job providing business. If you think of starting a pharma company based in Ngp, you know who to call for employment! I would love to be Employee #2 in your company at Ngp. And I don’t even want a corner office!

  5. Your description of Nagpur’s inviting roads reminds of my own days in places like Ranchi, Durgapur and Chaibasa (its a very small place in Jharkhand). Even though am in the same boat as you are it sometimes does feel inviting to drop it all and go back to the grassroots. (Cannot say the same about Patna as it has horrible traffic)
    But somewhere this post is much more than about roads. It is to me a metaphor for the two sweet opposites that life has laid in front of us. Metro life is like dark chocolate as bitter sweet as possible and small cities are like a Jalebi, always desirable but never there when you need it.
    So like you say, Life’s like that and it goes on as always….

    A lot we leave behind,
    But a lot more we take away.
    In memories lies our solace,
    In dreams our happiness.
    The past we want to hold,
    The future we want to reach,
    We all are on a journey,
    But we dont want it to end.
    In these opposites,
    There are answers entwined,
    But think again my friend,
    Do we need them today? 😉

Leave a Reply

