Changing times, changing handwritings.

When I was in my first grade and had to improve my handwriting using those cursive writing practise books that my school had issued, I used to toil away at getting my As and Bs correct. (It is a different matter altogether that I have to worry about my Ps and Qs now) I would look at my parents’ handwriting, my grandpa’s handwriting, and used to fancy my handwriting over theirs. I mentally vowed never to change my handwriting, no matter what happened. I vowed to keep my handwriting as beautiful as it was.

 

Time passed, I switched grades.. and I still managed to hold on to my extra cursive handwriting that took me ages to complete an assignment or an exam paper. School got over, I hopped to college. I still clung on to my handwriting, refusing to part with it even for the lengthy Board exam papers.

 

I tried to hold on.. hold on.. but alas, the time came when I had to choose efficiency over beauty and style and that’s when I traded in my handwriting for a faster and neater version of it. Faster and neater, but not beautiful. Tidy? Yes. But not beautiful. Now I have a spanking new handwriting and style that allows me to write as fast as anybody. But I miss that old handwriting, I miss that time. I miss it.

8 thoughts on “Changing times, changing handwritings.

  1. My sentiments exactly ^^

    No pretty looking notebooks.. oh I miss that so much .. the time when you could just go on looking at your notebooks and get entranced by your own handwriting ❤

    Heh.

  2. Rondeep says:

    Miss that handwriting, which brought one grace marks in dictation tests, in primary school. Try to revert to it while writing my personal dairy. But after all these years, everything’s just not the same.

  3. True true..

    Those were the days when you got 12 minutes to write down those 4 lines written on the blackboard.. underline it with your pencil and make it look so neat and beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

